Impeachment process of Makinde’s Deputy to continue as Oyo CJ inaugurates seven-man panel

4 Min Read
Waterfield Luxury Hotel Akobo Ibadan

Chief Judge of Oyo State, Justice Muntar Abimbola, has inaugurated a seven-man panel to investigate the allegations levelled against the state Deputy Governor, Rauf Olaniyan.

Our correspondent reliably gathered that Justice Abimbola inaugurated the panel on Thursday.

The inagauration followed a letter received from the speaker directing him to constitute a panel to investigate the deputy governor.

It was gathered that section 188 (5) gave him the mandate as chief judge of the state to appoint a panel of seven persons to investigate the allegations.

The use of the word ‘shall’ in section 188 (5) imposes a duty on the chief judge of Oyo State to appoint a panel of seven persons.

It would be recalled that the Assembly had at its sitting in June served the Deputy Governor with a Notice of Impeachment over alleged gross misconduct and abuse of office.

However, in the wake of development, the deputy governor, Rauf Olaniyan approached the lower court to stop his impeachment.

But on Thursday, Justice Ladiran Akintola of an Oyo State High Court, sitting in Ibadan dismissed the suit filed by the deputy governor of the state to stop the state House of Assembly from removing him from office.

Giving the judgement, the court held that the House of Assembly has not breached the provisions of the constitution on the removal of governor or deputy governor.

According to the court, the lawmakers substantially complied with the provisions of Section 188 of the Constitution on the removal process. The court said the lawmakers should continue with the removal process.

Recall that about 23 legislators voted in favour of the impeachment when allegations of financial misconduct, insubordination, and failure to perform assigned duties, were filed against Olaniyan.

In the petition, entitled: “Petition and Notice of Allegations against the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency, Engineer Rauf Olaniyan,” he was accused of gross misconduct, abuse of office, financial recklessness, abandonment of office and official duties, and insubordination.

“This is in accordance with Section 188 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended),” the petition read in part.”

The lawmakers, who signed the petition, included: Fadeyi Muhammed (Ona Ara), Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho South), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan South-West I), Okedoyin Julius (Saki West) and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan North II).

Others were: Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele II), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (Ibadan South-East II), Owolabi Olusola (Ibadan North-East II), Olagoke Olamide (Ibadan North-East I), Olayanji Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo) and Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa North).

The remaining lawmakers were: Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki East/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan South-West II), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele I), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan South-East I), Obadara Akeem (Ibadan North-West), Oyekunle Fola (Ibadan North I) and Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

Share this Article
Leave a comment

You cannot copy content of this page

× Talk to us