JUST IN: OYSIEC to conduct council election on May 15

2 Min Read

The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) has in a press release announce the commencement local government election process with timetable and guidelines into the 33 local government areas in the state.

Quoting the Commission’s Chairman, Aare Isiaka Abiodun Olagunju SAN, “stakeholders are hereby enjoined to give their support and cooperation to the Commission, so as to organise and conduct free, fair, credible and transparent local government election in Oyo State.”

  1. In compliance with Section 30 Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), Section 5 (a) and Paragraph 1 (1) Schedule 2 of the State Independent Electoral Commission Law CAP 154, Laws of Oyo State of Nigeria 2000, the general public is hereby informed that Elections will be conducted in thirty-three (33) Local Government Councils in Oyo State on SATURDAY, 15th May, 2021 between 8:00a.m. and 3.00p.m.
  2. In the circumstance, prospective candidates are expected to obtain nomination forms in respect of the elections into their Local Government Councils at the Commission’s headquarters situate at Quarters 484, Total Garden –Gate Road, Agodi GRA, Ibadan. Oyo State on or before Monday 30th April 2021 upon payment of the sum of (A) N250,000:00k (Two Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) only for the position of Chairman or (B) N100,000:00k (One Hundred Thousand Naira Only) for the position of a Councilor.
  3. The relevant prescribed fee(s) as stated above shall be payable to either The OYSIEC (Chairmanship) Zenith Bank Account No. 1211862568 or The OYSIEC (Councillorship) Zenith Bank Account No. 1211851234 respectively depending on the position the candidate is contesting for in the elections.
Share this Article
Leave a comment

You cannot copy content of this page